Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.
Time to read
less than
1 minute
Read so far

Fordyce avoids special election

Posted in:

FORDYCE — Three write-in candidates filed at the last minute to become members of the Village of Fordyce Board of Trustees and saved the village from a special election.

Allen Eickhoff, Mikenna Kleinschmit and Charles Kramer were elected Tuesday with 16, five and three votes respectively.

The incumbent deadline passed with Kramer, Doug Stevens and Roger Becker not filing for re-election. After the new candidate deadline passed, no one had filed for a seat and three vacancies remained which made Cedar County Clerk Dave Dowling a little nervous that the village would have to resolve the situation with a special election to fill the spots.

Fortunately, it didn’t come to that with the write-in candidates filing at the last minute.