Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.
Time to read
1 minute
Read so far

Deadline nears for village board races

HARTINGTON - The deadline is approaching for those wishing to continue service on village boards.

Those incumbents on village boards must file with the Cedar County Clerk’s Office by July 15 to appear on the ballot for this year’s general election. An incumbent is anyone who is currently serving a public office regardless of which position they wish to file for.

Aug. 1 is the deadline for any new candidate filings for village boards.

Village boards in Fordyce, Belden, St. Helena, Coleridge, Magnet and Wynot are all four-year terms with the races appearing on the general election ballot.

In Belden, incumbent Robert Patefield has filed to seek another term on the village board and new candidate Christopher Aldrich is also seeking votes. Incumbents Janice Wobbenhorst and Don Surber must file by July 15 if they are interested in appearing on the ballot. The top three vote-getters in November will be on the board.

In Magnet, incumbent Miriam Albrecht has filed for another term while new candidate Chris Albrecht is also seeking votes to be placed on the village board. Incumbent Dennis Schmuecker has not filed yet. The top two vote-getters in November will be elected to the board.

In Wynot, Terry Pinkelman is seeking another term while Kathy Promes has not yet officially decided. There are two seats to fill.

In Coleridge, Kelly Hammer has filed to retain his seat on the village board while George Hefner has yet to file. There are two board seats to fill with the general election.

For the St. Helena village board, three incumbents have not made their intentions known: Carmen Tramp, Jody Albrecht and Clair Wieseler. The top three vote-getters will be elected to the board.