Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.


New generation joins local business

HARTINGTON — A new face with a familiar name is now occupying a desk at the Cedar County News.

Kellyn Dump, 26, has joined the Cedar County News as an advertising and marketing specialist.

Read More

Names are now being sought for Veterans’ Memorial

HARTINGTON — Design plans are well underway for the new Hartington Area Veterans Memorial to be located in downtown Hartington across from the Historic Hartington Hotel, with the entrance of the memorial to be located on the west end of the memori

Read More

Infant’s death inspires local woman

Alan Dale

Cedar County News

HARTINGTON — Sarah Gustafson was not going to let adversity keep her from doing bigger and better things for more people.

She was a foster parent to her 29-year-old niece’s premature son.

Read More

Coming Down

This house on the corner of Court Street and South Madison Avenue across from Carkoski Field was torn down last week. Bob Heimes brought his equipment in to do the demolition work for Cody Stappert.

Read More

Continuance is granted in attempted murder case

HARTINGTON — Dist. Court Judge Bryan Meismer granted a continuance Monday in the attempted murder case of Kevin Haug.

Haug is facing two charges of attempted murder. 

Read More


Almsgiving was one focus during the Advent season at East and West Catholic. The students found ways to share with those in need and were encouraged to earn money for “Pennies for Patients,” which helps fund research for children suffering from cancer.

Read More

Hartington-Newcastle releases second quarter, first semester honor rolls

HARTINGTON — Hartington-Newcastle School has recently released the second quarter and first semester honor roll for the 2019-20 school year. The following is the information currently available. 

Read More