Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.
Time to read
1 minute
Read so far

NSAA Releases Girls Bball Subdistrict Brackets

Posted in:

HARTINGTON - The postseason is here.

The NSAA released Subdistrict brackets for girls' basketball, with first-round games set to start on Monday.

Area teams spread into four different Subdistricts this year, ranging from Class C2 to Class D2.

Wynot earned the only top seed of Cedar County schools, with Cedar Catholic, Randolph, and Hartington-Newcastle each earning a two seed.

Cedar Catholic and Laurel-Concord-Coleridge will both play in Subdistrict C2-7 at Wayne High School.

The Lady Trojans earned the number two seed, settling in behind Ponca. Homer, Winnebago, and LCC fill out the remaining three seeds in that order.

The Lady Bears face 'Bago in the first round on Monday night, with the winner advancing to face Ponca on Tuesday. Following that game, Cedar faces Homer.

The winners of Tuesday night's games face off on Thursday in the Subdistrict Finals.

Randolph, Hartington-Newcastle, and Wausa are competing in Class D1. Randolph will be in Subdistrict D1-6 at Stanton High School along with Pender, Lutheran High Northeast, Walthill, and Osmond. Hartington-Newcastle and Wausa are both in Subdistrict D1-8 at Creighton High School with North Central, Boyd County, and Niobrara/Verdigre.

The Lady Cardinals are the two seed in Subdistrict D1-6, with Pender grabbing the top slot. Walthill and Osmond play on Monday night with the winner advancing to face Pender on Tuesday. Following Pender's game, Randolph takes on LHNE. The winner of Tuesday's games will play in the Subdistrict Finals on Thursday.

In Subdistrict D1-8, Niobrara/Verdigre and Wausa start things off on Monday night, and the winner advances to face North Central on Tuesday night. Hartington-Newcastle and Boyd County follow in the Tuesday night late game. Winners of Tuesday night's gameplay in the Subdistrict Finals on Thursday.

Wynot headlines Subdistrict D2-4 at the Msgr. Werner Activity Center with Cedar Catholic in Hartington. The Lady Blue Devils are the top seed and will face the winner of Monday night's Santee and Winside game on Tuesday evening. Following Wynot's game, Bloomfield and Emerson-Hubbard play in the late game on Tuesday night. Winners of Tuesday's games face off in the Thursday night Subdistrict Final.

Each class will have 12 Subdistrict winners that advance to the District Finals along with four wildcard teams per classification. The winner of the District Finals games will advance to the state tournament down in Lincoln. That tournament runs from February 28 through March 2.