Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.
Time to read
less than
1 minute
Read so far

Neb. Senators ask for special session

Posted in:

LINCOLN — Eleven Nebraska state senators delivered a request to the Neb. Secretary of State Tuesday initiating a formal call for a special session dedicated to racial justice.

Senators Machaela Cavanaugh, Ernie Chambers, Matt Hansen, Sara Howard, Megan Hunt, Rick Kolowski, John McCollister, Adam Morfeld, Patty Pansing Brooks, Tony Vargas and Justin Wayne all signed the statement.

The letter lists 10 specific purposes for reconvening.

The statement effectively sets a deadline for a potential special session.

Once Secretary of State Bob Evnen receives the statement, he will relay the senators’ request to the other members of the Legislature.

If 33 or more senators support the special session request – state law requires that Gov. Ricketts convene the Legislature within five days of receiving the certified information.

Although state law allows Gov. Ricketts to convene the Legislature for a special session by executive decision, a spokesperson for the governor has said Ricketts has no plans to call a special session.

Stay in the know!

To get news alerts on your cell phone, get the Cedar County News app in the ITunes store or  in the Google Play Store.