Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.
Time to read
1 minute
Read so far

Most incumbents will try to retain their seats

Posted in:

HARTINGTON — Most area incumbents up for election this year decided to seek another term in office. 

Laurel Mayor Mark Patefield decided two terms were enough, however. Current Laurel City Council President Keith Knudsen has decided to seek that seat. 

Patefield said he believes after eight years in office, it’s time for a change — both for him and for the city. 

“It’s one of those positions where you need some turnover,” he said. “I have enjoyed doing it and enjoy doing it, but after eight years sometimes you need someone to come in with different ideas.” 

Long-time Laurel City Council member Keith Knudsen has decided to run for the position to fill the void being left by Patefield. 

“I still have two years left on my term with city council, but I decided to put my name in. We have quite a few projects going on in Laurel over the next couple of years and I thought I could continue with the service,” he said. 

Both Hartington City Council members up for election — Roman Sudbeck and Chris Bartling — have decided to continue their public service. 

Sudbeck is filling out the unexpired term of former Council member Deb Addison, while Bartling will complete his eighth year on the Council this year. 

All three incumbents on the Hartington Airport Authority Board have also chosen to run for re-election. Incumbents on that board are: Dr. Roger Filips, Karma Schulte and Joe Hish. 

All three incumbents on the Hartington-Newcastle School Board have also filed for another four-year term on the board. 

Dana Rosener, Aaron Fuelberth and Jason Heikes all decided to toss their hats into the ring. 

Rosener was on the Newcastle School Board and has since served on the Hartington- Newcastle Board. Fuelberth and Heikes are both seeking their second terms on the Board. 

Two of the three incumbents up for election on the Wynot School Board have decided to seek another term. 

Greg Hite and Aaron Burbach both filed last Tuesday for another term on the Board. Another Wynot Board member, Alison Lange, chose not to seek another term on the Board. 

Four members of the Laurel- Concord-Coleridge School Board are up for election this year. Three of the four have chosen to seek another term in office. Carol Erwin, Dustin Thompson, and Sam Recob all decided to try and stay on the Board. Tyler Specht has decided not to seek another term. 

All three Randolph School members — Jim Scott, Cody Backer and Lisa Linville — also decided to seek another term. 

Randolph will have a new City Council member this year, though. Brad Bargstadt has decided not to seek another term on the Board. 

Cedar County Commissioner Craig Bartels has also filed for another term on the board. 

Anyone wishing to challenge for a seat on one of these boards has until March 2 to file an affidavit with the Cedar County Clerk’s office. The Primary Election will be held Tuesday, May 12, while the General Election will be held Tuesday, Nov. 3. 

All elections in Cedar County are now being held via the mail. Cedar County Clerk Dave Dowling said ballots will be mailed out to registered voters 22 days prior to the election.