Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.
Time to read
1 minute
Read so far

Most county officials seeking re-election this year

Posted in:

HARTINGTON — Several county officials and other incumbents have filed for re-election.

Candidates were first able to file for re-election last week. Incumbents have until Feb. 15 to make their intentions publicly known.

Those who have filed for reelection include:

• Jean Wiebelhaus, county treasurer

• David Dowling, county clerk

• Chris Tramp, District 1 county commissioner

• David McGregor, District 3 county commissioner

• Larry Koranda, county sheriff

- Nicholas Matney, county attorney

• Janet Wiechelman, clerk of the district court

• Tim Gobel, county surveyor

• Candice Climer, Hartington-Newcastle School Board

The only county official that has not yet filed for re-election is County Assessor Jeff Curry. District 2 Commissioner Craig Bartels is the only county official not up for election this year.

Those considered incumbents include anyone holding an office currently, regardless of what office they are seeking, Dowling said.

For example, a school board member filing for a spot on a village board is still considered an incumbent filing for office, even though they have not served on the village board previously. The fact they are a school board member makes them an incumbent, he said.

Non-incumbents seeking public office have until March 1 to file for election.

Village board contests will only be seen on the general election ballot this fall - Fordyce, Belden, St. Helena, Coleridge, Magnet and Wynot. The incumbent filing deadline for any of those village board spots is July 15 and any new candidates, Aug. 1. Filing fees must be paid at the time a candiate files for office.

The filing fee equals one percent of the annual salary of the position the individual is seeking. Many school board and some council members are not paid so there’s no filing fee associated, Dowling said.