Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.
Time to read
1 minute
Read so far

Kathol sworn in as new councilman

Posted in:

Tammy Leise, Melissa Lordemann, Charles Meirose, Tamara Pedersen, Steve Rokusek, Patty Schieffer and Marilyn Thoene.

-Firefighters: Ryan Marsh, chief; Brandon Fischer, assistant chief; Chris Bartling; Doug Becker; John Brodersen; Dan Carl; Jimmy Christensen; Dirk Dailey; Dave Feilmeier; Jerrold Schulte; Rod Fischer; Brian Gall; Pat Guy; Jacob Haahr; Robert Hamilton; Mark Heimes; Michael Hoeppner; Matthew Kathol; Randy Kathol; Tyler Kathol; Ron Lammers; Tucker Lammers; Austin Mann; Mike Jueden; Dustin Neuhalfen; Corey Pearson; Brad Peitz; Darin Pick; Thomas Potts; Nathaniel Rutar; Chris Steffen; Dan Steiner; Bill Thoene; Aaron Wiechelman; Jon Wiechelman; Zachary Adcock; Chase Rolfes and Drake Turner.

-Official Bank: Bank of Hartington. -City Attorney: Kennedy, Pier, Loftis, & Reynolds LLP.

-City Engineer: JEO Consulting Group. -Street Superintendent: Terry Mead, JEO Consulting Group.

-Zoning Administrator: LeRoy Hansen. -City Clerk-Treasurer: Daniella De Waal. -Deputy Clerk: Marlys Hines. -Utility Superintendent: Corey Kramer. -Official Newspaper: Cedar County News.

-Tree Board: Dan Kathol, chairman; Leander Lammers and Esther Larsen.

-Healthcare Provider: Vacant. -Citizens Advisory Committee for the Economic Development Plan: Jason Dendinger, Lee Carl, Donna Fischer, Burnell Herbolsheimer and John Kramer.

HARTINGTON – The Hartington City Council has a new member for the upcoming new year and some familiar faces for 2023.

Incumbent Cody Christensen and newcomer Colin Kathol took the oath of office – as did incumbent Mayor Mark Becker – during the council's Dec. 13 meeting.

Becker thanked Christensen for returning to serve the city and welcomed Kathol to the council.

'Let's do good things,' Becker said. Kathol, who is replacing outgoing council member Brad Peitz, also resigned from the city's Variance Committee.

The Council approved the appointment of Christensen as council president, a position Peitz had held for the past four years.

In other business, the council approved: -An increase in the amount Hartington- Newcastle Public Schools pays to rent the city auditorium for basketball practice from $500 annually to $700 per year.

-The appointment of Pat Feilmeier as the chairman of the Variance Committee.

-The appointment of Drake Turner to the Hartington Volunteer Fire Department.

-An agreement renewal with the Nebraska Department of Transportation.

-A garage bay rental agreement for Kruse True Value.

The council also approved the following annual appointments: -Ambulance: Eric Becker, Troy Bottolfsen, Dirk Dailey, Donna Davey, Dixie Fischer, Carol Hamilton, Jeff Jones, Clay Kleinschmit, Tim Kuchta, Steve Leise,