Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.
Time to read
1 minute
Read so far

HNS teams will compete in Class D1 this winter

Posted in:

LINCOLN - The NSAA has released classifications for basketball and wrestling this winter.

One notable change is the Hartington-Newcastle girl’s basketball drops to Class D1 while Cedar Catholic will remain at Class C2. The two teams have faced each other in Subdistricts the past two seasons, with both games coming down to a last-second basket — HNS won in 2017 and Cedar won in 2018.

The same change will be made to the Wildcats boys team as well.

The Cedar Catholic wrestling team that is co-opted by Hartington-Newcastle will be moving down from Class B to Class C. the Trojans team is now tied for the fifth biggest team in the class with Wakefield-Allen and Arlington with 82 boy students. Grades nine through eleven are summed up to declare classifications. 

In boy’s basketball, Laurel-Concord-Coleridge will remain in Class C2, Wynot will stay in Class D2, and Randolph will move down from Class D1 to D2. In girl’s basketball, LCC will remain in Class C2, Randolph will remain in D1, and Wynot will remain in D2.

Subdistricts have also been announced for basketball and Districts have as well for wrestling.

For boys basketball, Cedar Catholic will be in Subdistrict C2-7 with Crofton, LCC, and Ponca. The HNS boys will be in Subdistrict D1-5 with Bloomfield, Elkhorn Valley, and Plainview. The Randolph boys will be in Subdistrict D2-4 with Osmond, Santee, Wausa, and Wynot.

For the girls, Cedar Catholic will be in Subdistrict C2-7 with Homer, LCC, Ponca, and Winnebago. Hartington-Newcastle will be in Subdistrict D1-8 with Boyd County, Niobrara/Verdigre, North Central, and Wausa. Randolph will be in Subdistrict D1-6 with Lutheran High Northeast, Osmond, Pender, and Walthill. Wynot will be in Subdistrict D2-4 with Bloomfield, Emerson-Hubbard, Santee, and Winside.

For wrestling Districts, Cedar Catholic will wrestle in District C-1 at Battle Creek along with the host school, Bishop Neumann, Centennial, cross county/Osceola, Doniphan-Trumbull, Louisville, Madison, Malcolm, Oakland-Craig, Ponca, Southcentral Nebraska Unified District #5, St. Paul, Wakefield-Allen, Winnebago, and Yutan.