Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.
Time to read
1 minute
Read so far

Five seek spot on Coleridge Village Board

Posted in:

HARTINGTON – Candidates are still needed for several area village board positions.

The incumbent filing deadline for the general election is 5 p.m. July 15 for the races of Cedar County village boards, the Cedar-Knox Public Power District Board of Directors, the North Central Public Power District Board of Directors and the Educational Service Unit board of directors.

An incumbent is anyone currently serving in an elective office, even if it is not the office for which they are fi ling. Non-incumbents have until Aug. 1 to file.

The Cedar County Clerk’s Office will be open until 5 p.m. July 15 to accommodate incumbents and non-incumbents wishing to file for village board races.

The Nebraska Secretary of State’s Office also will be open until 5 p.m. that day to take filings for the public power district board races and the ESU board races.

Cedar County Clerk Jessica Schmit said no write-in votes will be counted unless a person has filed a write-in affidavit and is eligible for the particular race he or she is running for.

So far, five people are vying for a seat on the Coleridge Village Board.

Incumbent Brenda Lage has filed for another four-year term. However, fellow incumbents Jeremy Bruning and LeRoy Cautrell had not yet filed to retain their seats as of Monday at 5 p.m.

Non-incumbents seeking a seat on the Coleridge board are: Dennis Heitman, Jesse Jackson, Terrill Cook, and Tony Kalin. Jackson served on the board previously.

The two incumbents on the Fordyce Village Board — Bryan Thoene and Thomas Pinkelman — both filed back in January to retain their seats. No one has yet filed to challenge them.

All other Cedar County villages are still looking for candidates to fill spots.

The Belden Village Board has two seats open. Incumbent Brad Stapelman filed in June to retain his seat.

Fellow incumbent Jody Campbell has not yet filed for re-election. Magnet Village Board has three seats open, but no one has yet filed for one of them. Incumbnets Jason R. Becker, James W. Cautrell, and Brad Backstrom have not indicated if they plan to seek another term on the board.

No one has stepped up yet, to lead the St. Helena Village Board, either. Incumbents Victor Paltz and Kyle Suing had not yet filed for another term on the board as of Monday.

The Wynot Village Board also has three spots open. Incumbents Charles Burbach and Melvin Heimes have both filed for another fouryear term on the board. Incumbent Janice Heimes has not filed, though.