Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.
Time to read
1 minute
Read so far

FFA Chapter celebrates accomplishments

Posted in:

HARTINGTON — Families and members celebrated the Hartington- Newcastle FFA Chapter and its many accomplishments at its April 28 banquet.

The evening started with a pulled pork meal and many delicious salads and desserts. Finishing up the meal was a slide show of the chapter’s activities and a showing of the retiring seniors.

After finishing up the meal, attendees recognized all of the students and their achievements and their involvement throughout the year. Awards had been handed out to students who stuck out from the rest through their involvement in the chapter and success in the classroom. Selected students who had shown outstanding development and use of leadership skills over the past year were given leadership awards.

Receiving the Dekalb Award was Lane Heimes for excelling in all areas of ag. His name will be engraved on a plaque and will be in the ag shop. The other members were Graham Potts, Katelyn Wubben, Matthew Loecker, Logan Eickhoff, Isabella Hulit and Jack Stevens.

The Scholarship Award is awarded to members who demonstrated strong scholastic and academic ability. Members included Reece Albers, Cole Heimes, Emma Wubben and Dalie Paulsen.

Most Active Awards are given to members who have participated in all of the various activities throughout the year. Junior class was Tessa Haahr and sophomore class was Ava Noecker and Claire Rolfes.

Receiving the John Michael Lammers Award was Keaton Steffen, who will have his name engraved on the plaque that will be in the ag shop.

Members are recognized for their Supervised Agricultural Experience by getting Chapter Star production and placements awards. This year, Keaton Steffen, Daniel Steffen and Lane Heimes received the Chapter Star based off of the hard work they put in at the District and State levels.

After the chapter events, senior parents were recognized and thanked for all of the time and patience they put in for helping the members grow to the best members they can be. Lane Heimes gave a retrieving address as the 202223 chapter president. Lane gave remarks of the chapter accomplishments and of the many memories that were made during the year.

Then the long-awaited 2023-24 officer team was announced. The new officers are: Historian Ava Noecker, Secretary Claire Rolfes, Parliamentarian Andrew Heimes, Treasurer Grayden Hochstein, Reporter Tessa Haahr, Sentinel Cole Heimes, Vice President Emma Wubben and President Logan Eickhoff.

“Saying goodbye is never easy,” advisor Emma Lammers said of 11 Cedar Catholic and Hartington-Newcastle seniors.

Logan Castillo, Lane Heimes, Weston Heine, Isabella Hulit, Carson Noecker, Daile Paulsen, Aiden Rogers, Daniel Steffen, Keaton Steffen, Max Steffen and Jack Stevens were the seniors who hung up their blue corduroy jackets for the last time.