Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.
Time to read
1 minute
Read so far

Election is now set as filing deadline passes

Posted in:

HARTINGTON — A political newcomer is now the lone candidate seeking a city council seat that is open due to the incumbent not filing for another term.

Clark Johnson, Hartington, filed for the seat that will be vacated by Brad Peitz who did not seek another term. Incumbent Cody Christensen filed to retain his seat, as did Mayor Mark Becker.

Johnson, Christensen and Becker will appear on the general election ballot this fall.

Two new candidates and two incumbents seek a spot on the Wynot School Board. James Eskens and Susan Lenzen both filed as new candidates, while incumbents Laurie Schulte and Todd Pinkelman also want to retain their seats. One candidate will be eliminated as voters can choose up to three on the general ballot this fall.

In general, Hartington and Wynot voters will see several statewide candidates filling the primary ballot including the primary race for governor, U.S. House and attorney general, among others.

Mark Patefield of Laurel will face off against Keith Kube of Crofton, Robert Johnston of Clearwater and Barry DeKay of Niobrara, all vying for the District 40 state senate seat vacated by Sen. Tim Gragert.

All county officials filed to retain their seats and are running unopposed except for Assessor Jeff Curry. Becky Dresden has filed for that job and is running unopposed.

The only county contested race for the primary is two county commissioner seats.

Current Commissioner for District 3 David McGregor faces opposition from Kelly Hammer of Coleridge.

Due to recent redistricting, Coleridge is now a part of District 3.

Those in District 1 will choose between current Commissioner Chris Tramp and challenger Dick Donner for the northern district seat.