Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.
Time to read
1 minute
Read so far

Election deadline for villages quickly approaches

Posted in:

HARTINGTON – Candidates are still needed for several area village board positions.

The incumbent filing deadline for the general election is 5 p.m., Monday, July 15 for the races of Cedar County village boards, the Cedar-Knox Public Power District Board of Directors, the North Central Public Power District Board of Directors and the Educational Service Unit board of directors.

An incumbent is anyone currently serving in an elective office, even if it is not the office for which they are filing. Non-incumbents have until Aug. 1 to file.

So far, five people are vying for a seat on the Coleridge Village Board.

Incumbent Brenda Lage has filed for another four-year term. However, fellow incumbents Jeremy Bruning and LeRoy Cautrell had not yet filed to retain their seats as of Monday at 5 p.m.

Non-incumbents seeking a seat on the Coleridge board are: Dennis Heitman, Jesse Jackson, Terrill Cook and Tony Kalin. Jackson has served on the board previously.

The two incumbents on the Fordyce Village Board — Bryan Thoene and Thomas Pinkelman — both filed back in January to retain their seats. No one has yet filed to challenge them.

All other Cedar County villages are still looking for candidates.

The Belden Village Board has two seats open. Incumbent Brad Stapelman filed in June to retain his seat. Fellow incumbent Jody Campbell has not yet filed for re-election.

Magnet Village Board has three seats open, but no one has yet filed for one of them. Incumbents Jason R. Becker, James W. Cautrell and Brad Backstrom have not indicated if they plan to seek another term on the board.

No one has stepped up yet, to lead the St. Helena Village Board, either. Incumbents Victor Paltz and Kyle Suing had not yet filed for another term on the board as of Monday.