Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.
Time to read
less than
1 minute
Read so far

Election coverage has moved to website, E-edition

Posted in:

HARTINGTON — Coverage of Tuesday night’s Primary Election can be found at the Cedar County News website and on this week’s Cedar County News E-edition.

Besides the governor’s race, Cedar County residents had three other big races to help decide this year.

Four candidates — Mark Patefield, Laurel; Barry DeKay, Niobrara; Keith Kube, Crofton; and Robert Johnson, Clearwater — all squared off Tuesday to see which two candidates would advance to the November election.

The winner in November will then replace current Dist. 40 Sen. Tim Gragert, Creighton, who decided not to seek re-election.

Current Cedar County District 1 Commissioner Chris Tramp is also being challenged in the Republican primary by former District 3 Commissioner Dick Donner. Incumbent Dave McGregor is being challenged for his District 3 seat by Kelly Hammer.

For the past 30 or more years, the News has reported the election results in the following day’s newspaper. However, the Northeast Nebraska News Company printing presses were shut down in 2017, meaning the local newspaper is no longer being printed in Hartington.

The printer, Sheldon, Iowa’s White Wolf Web Printing, prints more than 60 Nebraska newspapers and at least 90 Iowa newspapers each week.

They are unable to accommodate a later press time for the Cedar County News, so all breaking news from the election is instead being published in a special E-edition-only front page.

Election news is also being continuously updated on the Cedar County News website,

All print subscribers can receive the newspaper E-edition for free by simply signing up at