Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.
Time to read
1 minute
Read so far

Devils cruise past Winside

Posted in:

In first round action on the boys side of classic tournament Wynot got back to its winning ways by downing Winside 55-27.

The Wildcats tried to rally in the second half but dug themselves into a big a hole in the first half to recover.

Wynot was led by Anthony Haberman who consistently drove the lane and finished with 11 points. Charlie Schroeder hit twice from long range and finished with nine points and five rebounds. Owen Sudbeck hit a pair of treys and the Devils got one each from Trystan Heimes and Peyton Wieseler as well.

Winside got 10 points from Dominic Reed and seven points each from Dean Kruger and Jake Bargstadt.

The first quarter saw Wynot defense shut down the Wildcats as a 3-pointer by Jake Bargstadt was all the offense they could muster. Wynot got a pair of three pointers from the left corner by Owen Sudbeck and Jonathan Dodge powered in a pair of lay-in on the inside as the Blue Devils raced to a 15-3 early lead.

In the second quarter Winside struggled against Wynot man as to man press continued. Wynot got balanced scoring with four points each from Garrett Lange and Haberman and 3-pointers by Trystan Heimes and Schroeder as the Devils widened the lead to 31-7 at halftime.

In the third quarter, Anthony Haberman hit for two driving layin and Peyton Wieseler drained a trey. Winside would try a rally behind five points each from Dominic Reed and Dean Kruger but only gained four points on the Blue Devils.

The final quarter saw treys by Schroeder and Carson Wieseler along with a pair of baskets by Colin Wieseler, but the outcome of this one had been determined early.

-SCORING Wynot- Anthony Haberman 11, Charlie Schroeder 9, Owen Sudbeck 6, Garrett Lange 6, Jonthan Dodge 4, Jack Kuchta 4, Colin Wieseler, 4, Trystan Heimes 3, Peyton Wieseler 3, Chase Schroeder 2. Winside- Dominic Reed 10, Jake Bargstadt 7, Dean Kruger 7, Austin Nelson 2 Dax Behmer 1.

REBOUNDS Wynot- Anthony Haberman 6, Charlie Schroeder 5, Garrett Lange 4. Winside- Dean Kruger 10.

Stay in the know!

To get news alerts on your cell phone, get the Cedar County News app in the ITunes store or  in the Google Play Store.