Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.
Time to read
1 minute
Read so far

Cedar gets the best of D.C. Aquinas

Posted in:

HARTINGTON — Over the years, David City Aquinas has owned Cedar Catholic on the football field.

The Monarchs have a 3-9 record against the Trojans, including a state championship game victory in 2014.

The tide turned in a big way here Friday night as Cedar Catholic cruised to a big 33-3 win over Coach Ron Mimmick’s team.

The Trojans used a stifling defense to roll past the perennial C-2 powerhouse team at Russ Hochstein Field.

Cedar Catholic limited the vaunted Monarch rushing attack to only 117 total yards and less than three yards per carry on the night.

After trading possessions back and forth for most of the first quarter, the Trojans took control just before the end of the frame, putting the first points of the night on the board with a 31-yard Andrew Jones to Grant Arens touchdown strike. Arens then booted the extra point to put Cedar Catholic up 7-0 with just 34 seconds left in the first quarter.

The duo connected again midway through the second quarter, this time on a 27-yard scoring play. Arens again split the uprights to give the Trojans the 14-0 advantage with 7:31 left in the frame.

“We had a lot of kids contribute to this win,” Cedar Catholic coach Chad Cattau said. “Even the kids that didn’t get on the field did a great job helping prepare our kids that got to play.”

Jones seems to be settling into the quarterback position after replacing three-year starter, Tate Thoene.

Cedar 7 13 0 13—33 Aquinas 0 0 3 0—3 Aquinas Cedar Catholic Total Offense 51-136 45-233

RUSHING Cedar - Ty Thoene, 13-59; Grant Arens, 9-41; Brett Kleinschmit, 3-10; James Christensen, 3-5; Andrew Jones, 6-1.

PASSING Cedar - Andrew Jones, 8-11-117. Aquinas - Lucas Sellers, 14-19; A.J. Oltmer, 0-1.

RECEIVING Cedar - Grant Arens, 4-79; Keaton Steffen, 1-23; Jaxson Bernecker, 2-8; Jaymison Cattau, 1-7.

TACKLES Cedar - Spencer Albers, 11; Jay Steffen, 8; Jaelen Lammers, 8; Ty Thoene, 6; James Fischer, 5; Max Steffen, 5; Jaxson Bernecker, 5; Keaton Steffen, 4; Carson Arens, 4; Nolan Becker, 4; Weston Heine, 4; Breiton Whitmire, 3; Brett Kleinschmit,1.